Technology in Education

Posted on Updated on

As technology in education evolves and we try to integrate it into our classrooms, I find myself like a runner who started the marathon fifteen minutes late. I always thought of myself as “computer literate” person and while not a professional techy in anyway, you know, a person who could make there way around computers and software.

I’m presently taking an introduction to technology in the classroom. It’s a great course taught by a person who can easily dance their way around a computer. What really surprised me was the things that are coming out now are moving faster than I can learn them. Which brings me to my point. Do you think there will be a time when technology just completely out grows society? Where we just stop being interested in it because it’s moving too fast. Let’s look at electronics, everyone knows why buy a T.V now the technology is only going to change. The iPhone is the perfect example, people stand in line for two days before the product comes out just to say they they the latest version when Apple is already develop a newer version and is already in BETA test for the next generation. The same with software every year my boys hassle me about buying the latest version NHL15, I don’t even get the game unwrapped and EA sports has the newer version ready to go

Tools like Google Docs, wiki-spaces, Popplet, Prezi were all foreign to me. At one point I actually thought I was going to be part of the Matrix and somehow and turn into Keanu Reeves. The more I work with these tools the more I find they’re not that daunting, and I see how useful it is for the students and how it enhances their learning. I know there is something else out there that’s coming, I just don’t know what.

2 thoughts on “Technology in Education

    Hazel said:
    May 6, 2015 at 6:56 pm

    I’m already obsolete but I’m fine with it.

    Like

    hannessonm said:
    May 6, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    Tim ,I feel exactly the same .Except for the part about feeling like I knew my way around a computer. I have come a long way since the beginning of the course.

    Michelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

